MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Make a Difference and Support Local Scouts Today!


2018 Family Friends of Scouting Brochure

Matching Gift Checker

Shop Amazon

BSA Leadership Plaza Brick Order Form.pdf


Hawkeye Area Council Serves nearly 5,600 Youth Annually

The Hawkeye Area Council proudly serves 5,600 youth annually throughout seven counties in Eastern Iowa. Friends of Scouting is the annual campaign that raises funds to support our mission, "to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law."

Friends of Scouting provides 23% of the revenue needed to help fund the Howard H. Cherry Scout Reservation, training for our 2,000 volunteer leaders and high-quality programs for Scouts and their families.

All Donated Money Stays Local

All money donated to the Friends of Scouting annual campaign directly supports Scouting operations in Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn and Washington counties.

Each community takes ownership in their local units. During any number of community celebrations, you will witness Scouts marching in a parade, being conservation minded or providing community services.

Major Gifts

Giving to the Hawkeye Area Council Endowment Fund is one of the best ways to ensure that the Council can continue to offer outstanding programs for future generations of Scouts and families.

To endow means to provide or to equip. An endowment is a fund that is held in perpetuity to provide interest and dividend earnings for the benefit of a charitable cause.

An endowment gift says, "Scouting is important to me and my family. It’s more than an organization; it’s a way of life. It’s what we say and do in the spirit of the Scout Oath and Law."

To recognize such gifts, three national awards can be presented by the Council. 

  • James E. West Fellowship Award
  • 1910 Heritage Society
  • Founders Circle

James E West Fellowship

The James E. West Fellowship Award is a national recognition for individuals who contribute $1,000 or more in cash or securities to the Hawkeye Area Council Endowment Trust Fund. This contribution is in addition to the donor's annual gift to the Council's Friends of Scouting Campaign.

Organizations or individuals may contribute an award in honor of someone - an Eagle Scout, a Silver Beaver recipient, Council President, District Chairman; or in memory of a departed loved one, business associate or special Scouter.

Each donor is recognized with a personalized certificate, distinctive pin and an embroidered square knot which you may wear on your uniform.

There are several levels which are achieved with an accumulated level of giving to the James E. West Fellowship.

James E. West Fellowship Member:

  • $1,000 + James E West
  • $2,500 + James E West Bronze Level
  • $5,000 + James E West Silver Level
  • $10,000 + James E West Gold Level
  • $15,000 + James E West Platinum Level
  • $20,000 + James E West Diamond Level

James E West Endowment Painting Brochure

1910 Heritage Society

The 1910 Heritage Society was named in recognition of the year in which the visionary early leaders founded the Boy Scouts of America, which was patterned after the popular-Scouting program developed in England by Sir Baden-Powell.

Consider helping to ensure the Scouting legacy for future generations of young Americans. Society membership levels include:

  • Seton level membership: $25,000 minimum gift
    Ernest Thompson Seton was a nationally known artist and naturalist, author of the first official American Scout handbook and many other books important to Scouting.
  • Beard level membership: $100,000 minimum gift
    Daniel Carter Beard was the first chairman of the National Court of Honor, National Scout Commissioner, and author of many well- known books and stories for youth.
  • Roosevelt level membership: $500,000 minimum gift
    Theodore Roosevelt was the first Chief Scout Citizen, first vice president of the BSA, and President of the United States of America.
  • Phillips level membership: $1,000,000 and up
    Waite Phillips was one of the BSA's first benefactors, and donor to the BSA of almost 130,000 acres of land in New Mexico and what is now Philmont Scout Ranch.

Founders Circle

The Founders Circle recognizes deferred gifts designated to the Hawkeye Area Council's Endowment Fund. Donors are recognized for gift commitments with a minimum value of $100,000 made through: 

  • Bequest in a will or codicil.
  • Charitable gifts, such as unitrusts, annuity trusts and lead trusts.
  • BSA Gifts Annuities or BSA Pooled Income Fund gifts.
  • Life insurance or retirement plan designation.
  • Other deferred gifts approved by the local council.

There are four levels of membership in the Founders Circle.

  • Bronze $100,000 minimum gift commitment
  • Silver $250,000 minimum gift commitment
  • Gold $500,000 minimum gift commitment
  • Platinum $1,000,000 minimum gift commitment

The early founders of the BSA had the vision and commitment to make Scouting the premier youth organization in the world. In that spirit, we honor the modern-day visionaries who qualify for the Founders Circle in their commitment to perpetuate the visions and beliefs of those founders.

For More Information

For more information on ways to support the Hawkeye Area Council Endowment Fund, contact Heather Lampe, Development Director, Ph: 319-200-2248 or 

Copyright © 2014 Hawkeye Area Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®