MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In


Membership in the National Eagle Scout Association is limited to Eagle Scouts. It does not matter when you earned your Eagle Scout rank. Our local NESA Committee has been charged with recognizing adults as NESA Outstanding Eagle Scouts, and assisting in other areas of Eagle Scout recognition, such as the Council and District Recognition Events.

To join our local NESA Committee, you can complete the form available in the link below.

Fill out the bottom part of the form and turn it in to the Scout Office, or your friendly District Executive, to join our local NESA Committee. Joining our local NESA Committee will allow you to get involved in recognizing well-deserving individuals in the Hawkeye Area Council, both youth and adults.

Fill out the middle section, and send it to NESA with the appropriate payment, to join the national NESA organization. Joining the national NESA organization is incredibly important for Eagle Scouts planning on attending college, as you MUST be a member of the National Eagle Scout Association1 to be eligible for ANY of the scholarships available from NESA

NESA Membership Form

The National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) Committee in the Hawkeye Area Council was formed in 2013. The first recognitions awarded by the HAC NESA Committee were recipients of the District Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year in each of the three geographic districts of the council. Six finalists were determined for each district, with one being selected as the winner. The three district winners were then considered for the Council nomination for the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams Eagle Scout Project of the Year Award.

The first Council recipient of the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams Eagle Scout Project of the Year Award was Ian S., from Troop 242 in Washington, IA. Ian was recognized at the 2014 Council Recognition Event. Ian led a project renovating Friends Cemetery. Brush was cleared, stones were reset, old fence was removed and a bench was added. His project totaled 199 service hours.

We also awarded the first NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Awards at the 2014 Council Recognition Event. The first recipients were Aaron Randolph, Jr., for 2013, and Bruce Hamous for 2014. Ranger Rick Naaktgeboren was recognized in the summer of 2014, and Bruce Dolder was the final recipient for 2014, having been recognized at the 2015 Council Recognition Event. 

The second Council recipient of the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams Eagle Scout Project of the Year Award was Patrick M., from Troop 120 in Solon, IA. Patrick was recognized at the 2015 Council Recognition Event. Patrick led a project for the City of Solon, Lake MacBride DNR, and Solon High School. They constructed a six-foot wide grass trail approximately 1/2 mile long. Two culverts were installed and rock was placed around and on top of them. Trail markers were placed on posts at each end of the trail. His project totaled 255 service hours.

The 2015 recipients of the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Awards were all recognized in March, 2016, at the Council Recognition Event. They were Bill Jurgensen, Michael Klappholz, and Steven Rose.

The third Council recipient of the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams Eagle Scout Project of the Year Award was Marshall S., from Troop 15 in Cedar Rapids, IA. Marshall was recognized at the 2015 Council Recognition Event. Marshall led a project for R.E.M. Iowa Developmental Services. His team designed and built two sensory tables for the Autism Department. Table one is for liquid or wet feel materials. Table two has four sides: side one is texture samples, side two is hanging items, side three is latches and moving parts, side four is direct and indirect ball drop. His project totaled 91 service hours, but will be used by the organization for many years to come. 

1 Do I need to be a NESA member to apply for a NESA scholarship?
You must be a NESA member to receive a scholarship. However, you can apply for a NESA scholarship before you apply for a NESA membership. The system will not prevent you from creating an account if your membership has not been submitted or processed yet. NESA staffers will manually verify your NESA status before we offer an award. Scholarship applicants should apply for NESA membership by October 31.

For 2015, we have added a new award to be recognized at the 2016 Council Recognition Event.

  • Youth Outstanding Eagle Scout (Nomination Form)

    The following are the requirements to be nominated:

    1. Must be an Eagle Scout in the Hawkeye Area Council and under 18 years of age by October 1st.
    2. Must be currently registered in Scouting in the Hawkeye Area Council.
    3. Active in his Troop (attending 60% or more of activities).
    4. Has demonstrated exemplary citizenship in school, church, community and scouting.
    5. Only one nomination per Troop and it must be submitted by October 1st to the Council Office.
    6. Photograph of the Scout, in proper uniform, will be attached to this nomination.
    7. Four letters of recommendation will be attached (Scoutmaster, parents, School Representative, and Religious Representative).
    8. This nomination will be kept confidential from the Scout to prevent hard feelings if not selected.
Copyright © 2014 Hawkeye Area Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®