MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Boy Scouts

AGES: 11 -17 years

Boy Scouting, one of the traditional membership divisions of Scouting, is available to boys who have earned the Cub Scout Arrow of Light Award and are at least 10 years old or have completed the fifth grade and are at least 10, or who are 11, but not yet 18 years old. The program achieves the Boy Scouts of America's objectives of developing character, citizenship, and personal fitness.

The Boy Scout program is an American tradition that immediately follows Cub Scouting. Boy Scouting is an outdoor adventure program that develops character, leadership, citizenship, and fitness. Through the advancement program, a Scout progresses in rank, gaining additional knowledge and responsibilities. Boy Scouting includes learning new skills, summer camp, weekend campouts, leadership training, community service projects, hiking and much more.

The Eagle Scout rank is the pinnacle of a Scout's achievements. This high honor prepares a Scout to be the best that he can be.

Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country
and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake, and morally straight.

Scout Law

A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly,
courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty,
brave, clean, and reverent.

For great Boy Scout resources check this out!

Copyright © 2014 Hawkeye Area Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®